When it Comes to Writing Journals, Why Stop at One?

Great post on Writing in the House of Dreams from Diane Woodrow.
I’ve never told anyone just how many journals I keep at one time. There’s one by my bed with 5 lines to sum up my day, I never miss this. It’s a 5 year diary so I can compare with the previous years. I have another for writing about events that happen, good or bad, or when I need to rant about something. This one has been going about 3 years so far. I have a spiritual diary where I record my progress with meditation and prayer. I’ve always had a deep interest in different religions and these pages allow me to explore further what my beliefs are. I carry a small journal in my rucksack where I write my observations of the natural world – animals and birds I see, and the environment around me. I used to have issues with buying too much stuff, so in a slim notebook I now record my successful avoidance, things I’ve sold, or intend to give to charity. And thoughts about why having ‘things’ used to be so important, but have now become a weight. Finally I also keep notebooks – and these last ones are very large, and filled with bright colours – on characters and plot outlines for novels and short stories I’m working on. For my personal journals I prefer Paperblanks books and a cartridge pen with blue ink, or a bic biro when I’m outside. I’ve just remembered I have a book for recording made up recipes, tea mixes, home made creams etc. This one has little drawings in it too. I’m obviously a serial journal keeper. I think that’s because writing is how I make sense of the world and myself. I can also find old entries far more quickly because I can narrow down the subject. Thanks for this post. At least I know I’m not the only one…

Writing in the House of Dreams: Creative Dreaming, Creative Writing

Today, for the second in my occasional series of guest posts on journaling, I’m delighted to welcome Diane Woodrow in the House of Dreams. Diane is a writer, blogger, workshop facilitator wife, mother of twenty-somethings, dog walker and renter of rooms via Airbnb and word-of-mouth, who loves encouraging and talking to people. She moved to North Wales nearly a year ago.

What I love about her story is that she has so many notepads on the go, all at the same time! I’ve only met one other person who does that, in all my years of writing.

So, over to Diane…

graduation-day-17th-july-2014-1 Diane Woodrow

I have been doing personal writings for as long as I can remember. I’m really disappointed now that I’m older that I do not have my teenager diaries and journals and other writing that I did. I am thinking I either threw them away at that stage of “growing up” when you…

View original post 520 more words

About josieblueowl

I live a life as healthy and well balanced as I can. I believe that is the best way to support my creativity, I'm definitely not a person who thinks you should suffer to produce good work. I walk, meditate, read, garden, cook and try to write with honesty, and to the best of my ability.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

