What Next?

9689_MARJON-LOGO-CMYKIt’s been four years since I finished my degree which had the desired outcome of improving and focusing my writing. Since then I’ve self-published a book on Amazon Kindle, moved house twice, relocating to the county I was born in, and furthered my complimentary therapy qualifications. But I’m still not in the position I’d like to be in, I’m still a struggling, penniless writer. Ha ha ha, yes you could say it’s my choice, but what I chose was to to be a stay-at-home mum for many years, and now I’m having to find a way through this difficult financial climate to do something that is as rewarding for the second half of my life. I’ve tried putting the writing down over the years but I can’t – it’s the biggest part that makes up my me-ness. It chooses me.

So what next? After some considerable months of feeling depressed and finding it hard to adapt to my new location, I do at last have a plan. I’m going to do my Masters in Creative Writing. I know the education path is not for everyone, and you certainly don’t need a qualification to be a good, or published author. But it’s a path that helps me – my personality likes the structure, the modules, the deadlines, the peer pressure. As soon as I had my acceptance letter and finance in place everything changed, the sadness and indecision lifted and I’ve been writing well ever since, eager to begin next month. 33932cathedral2

I’m also excited that my new place of study is so much bigger than the last. Their alumni includes wonderful writers: Kazuo Ishiguro, David Mitchell, Sarah Waters, Alan Davies, and my favourite ethnobotanist James Wong. And one of my lecturers will be Scarlett Thomas who wrote: The end of Mr Y. The huge campus is close to the beautiful historic city of Canterbury with it’s stunning medieval cathedral.

We have to find a way to stick to our dreams even if that sometimes seems the hardest thing on earth. I’m hoping that pursing my studies at a higher level will lead to better writing and publication, but who knows, I’m constantly surprised by what appears from round the corners in life, never what’s expected. I just feel privileged to be able to do this. So bring on the next chapter of my writing life…

About josieblueowl

I live a life as healthy and well balanced as I can. I believe that is the best way to support my creativity, I'm definitely not a person who thinks you should suffer to produce good work. I walk, meditate, read, garden, cook and try to write with honesty, and to the best of my ability.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Next?

  1. anne todd says:

    Oh beautifully said Josie, so excited for your new venture. Twas meant to be!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. alexandriagabriel says:

    Great post indeed! I know exactly what you mean. It’s so hard to get depleted within your creativity but pushing through the hard times brings you a greater feeling when you finally get rewarded!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I relate to so much in this post, Josie. Writing was the thing I turned to, looking for something that felt rewarding after happy years as a stay-at-home mum, and for all that it’s such a precarious living, it still feels a privilege to be able to live so creatively in this second part of my adult life. I’m very excited for you, going on to your MA in such a great university. Keep us posted!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

