Sea Life

seaSo far, this year is going well. I suppose I can’t get excited yet as it’s only nine days into my new 2016 writing practice, but…

I’ve entered a writing competition, and decided on the next 5 I’m going to also submit work to, with deadlines for getting them done. I’ve re-edited, and sent out to readers my next novel. With inspiration from friends I’ve been experimenting with poetic forms (only written Free Form before). I’ve tried the Haiku, Villanelle, and Triolet so far. This is interesting for me. I chose to do poetry in an independent study module at Uni a few years back, but had no assistance from the tutor in specific form (yes OK I know it was independent study). I guess I’ve just always thought there was little point going mad with it because prose is what I love. Now it dawns on me (bit slow sometimes) that being experienced in poetry can really help prose sound beautiful – I’ve gone mad for it.

I’m keeping track of all my efforts in a shiny new book (thank-you for lovely Christmas stationary presents). Next week I’m going on a snowy winter holiday which I’m soooo excited about, and which I hope will fill me up with new stories and poems.

So why a picture of the sea near my home? Because I’ve been walking there regularly through these winter months, letting the power of the wind and water snatch my breath (and negative thoughts) away. It’s refreshing, inspiring, and I often feel like I’m those waves, crashing about in my life, trying this, trying that, failing, getting up, carrying on, getting disheartened, finding new inspiration, keeping at it, getting dragged back over stones, surging forward…

How are your New Year plans going?

 

About josieblueowl

I live a life as healthy and well balanced as I can. I believe that is the best way to support my creativity, I'm definitely not a person who thinks you should suffer to produce good work. I walk, meditate, read, garden, cook and try to write with honesty, and to the best of my ability.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sea Life

  1. Hi Josie – I’ve always gone on the occasional poetry workshop for just that reason – to enrich my prose writing. It sounds as if you’ve had a cracking start to your creative year. I’ve set aside the first few months to finish my children’s fantasy novel, so lots of walking at the coast for me this week too, as I get myself back in the zone with it

    Liked by 1 person

  2. josieblueowl says:

    Good luck with it Jenny. Nature is so supportive to us writers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

