Getting Back on Track

railway trackI was really organized, I was so prepared, but moving house still impacted more heavily on my life than I thought possible. It wasn’t just deciding what to give to charity, the gathering and packing of boxes and endless cleaning. It wasn’t just how physically draining moving house is, or being without a land-line or internet connection for 3 weeks; or all the letters to write, and calls to be made on a mobile in a poor signal area. Trying to organize transport for my kids to school, re-stocking the cupboards, cooking in a different kitchen, unpacking boxes, re-adjusting my distressed cats. After all these things were sorted, I needed a rest – fair enough I thought, but I still felt a little guilty about having a break, because I’d already had enough time away from my desk. So while I was resting I re-read my latest novel from beginning to where I’d left off. But there was no spark.

I was being creative – I was sewing and crocheting. I felt calm and balanced – back to daily yoga, meditation and walking. I was reading. Everything was in place, but still no spark. How could moving house completely destroy my desire to write?

For me personally, I think it’s got a lot to do with the fact that this move was only an interim one, and I have to move again in 3 months time – long distance. But it’s not just that. It’s also the huge disruption to a healthy daily writing routine that I’d worked so hard to create.  I believe the move came at a difficult time for me in the creation of my story. Like being disturbed by a loud noise in the night and waking from the depths of a dream that you can’t return to, so you lie tossing and turning, unable to sleep.

I understand myself well enough now to know that I will face the blank page, give myself a talking to and eventually get on with it, because I’ll get sick of the grumpy writer within. But I’m also trying to be philosophical. To look down on my life from a great height like the eagle and see the long length of twisting, turning track, the damaged parts, the places lost in fog, but also the lush countryside, the sun gleaming off the rails, the high speed straight bits where I’ve caught up on those irritating delays.

However, if anyone has experience of being diverted from course, any advice for a quick recovery…I’d love to hear from you.

About josieblueowl

I live a life as healthy and well balanced as I can. I believe that is the best way to support my creativity, I'm definitely not a person who thinks you should suffer to produce good work. I walk, meditate, read, garden, cook and try to write with honesty, and to the best of my ability.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

