Pinterest

Pinterest

The kids got me on to this, and initially I thought yes that’s fun, but what’s the point?

How wrong I was.

The point is, that as a particularly visual writer, who thinks of scenes rather than chapters, being able to access such a vast quantity of visual images, and put ones that inspire me onto different themed boards, is a fantastic resource, a research tool, somewhere to dream.

If I’m not sure where to go next with my plot or am putting the feelers out for a new creative journey then, for me, imagery gets my imagination warmed up for a day’s writing or planning.

At the start of a project I usually create a board full of images, something I became involved with through Jenny Alexander  (http://jennyalexander.co.uk/writing-workshops/) I find that Pinterest is a great way to create on-line mood boards.

Aside from writing (well not really as I often write for YA), it’s actually a wonderful example of how to be involved with my teenage kids. I can see what they’re interested in, what they’re researching for art and photography, share boards with them about things we love. They’re even recommending Pinterest at school as a resource for the creative subjects.

So fellow pinners out there, why do you love it too?

About josieblueowl

I live a life as healthy and well balanced as I can. I believe that is the best way to support my creativity, I'm definitely not a person who thinks you should suffer to produce good work. I walk, meditate, read, garden, cook and try to write with honesty, and to the best of my ability.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

