Buddha Mind

Buddha

I had plans for September. The kids were due back at school, and I was looking forward to writing and studying with fewer interruptions. I cleaned and tidied the house in readiness. Then out of the blue I had other work arise, for which I’m grateful – it’s good to have money coming in. An elderly family member died and I was involved with making funeral arrangements, and entertaining family whom I’d not seen for ages – a really pleasurable experience. During this time, two other family members were reaching a critical point in the slow breakdown of their relationship, which was worrying and stressful for me too. To round off the month I caught a nasty cold. As my cousin reminded me I often fall prey to bugs during the change from Summer to Autumn, but this year was too busy to notice that I wasn’t taking enough care of myself.

This may sound like a post full of complaints, but it’s not at all. I’m reminded of a time when I practised Julia Cameron’s idea of ‘artists dates’ – time spent on a regular basis going out and exploring the world around you, filling up your creative well. Well! It occurred to me that sometimes our creative well is automatically filled for us by the complexities of life. I had to practice acceptance during September, going with the flow, doing my best to be cheerful, and being rewarded for that through the warmth of conversation and memories of childhood. Thankfully when I was ill, I was in a position to rest and just ‘be’ ill.

This beautiful picture is my screen saver. Every time I turn on my computer Buddha is there, reminding me that I am like a cave by the sea shore, waves of human experience filling and emptying me with each change of tide, and yet I can choose to remain consistent and sure, even as my walls drip with salt water.

I’m very excited about attending a book launch in October for my friend Jenny Alexander’s new book: Writing in the House of Dreams: Creative Adventures for Dreamers and Writers.  http://writinginthehouseofdreams.com/writing-in-the-house-of-dreams-the-book/ …

…and I’m planning to get back to writing my novel (cheesy grin).

Have you ever made plans that were thwarted, but nevertheless you felt enriched by your alternative experience, and therefore more excited about writing?

 

About josieblueowl

I live a life as healthy and well balanced as I can. I believe that is the best way to support my creativity, I'm definitely not a person who thinks you should suffer to produce good work. I walk, meditate, read, garden, cook and try to write with honesty, and to the best of my ability.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Buddha Mind

  1. Jenny Alexander says:

    Thanks for the mention, Josie! If you have writing friends locally who would like to come along, let me know and I’ll send them an invite xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

