Over Thirty Years Ago…

Extract from The Sea (1982)

‘A skyscraper of charcoal rock towered into the fearful night. Colossal turrets of fallen scree were continuously bombarded by an explosive sea. Below these mighty castles lay a thin path of wet, ribbed sand. Clammy fingers wrapped around the cliff-side, through the wet, salt spray, enclosing the night in a cold fist’.

Okay, it’s not brilliant, but I was only 13 when I wrote it. What’s important is that I kept it, along with many other efforts; and that I’m still trying now, to explore the natural world through words.

The dreams that we first aspire to, are the ones we often gravitate back to, time after time. As children we are less afraid of what others think, and more courageous in our efforts.

Do you have any keepsakes that inspire you to hold steady to your course?

About josieblueowl

I live a life as healthy and well balanced as I can. I believe that is the best way to support my creativity, I'm definitely not a person who thinks you should suffer to produce good work. I walk, meditate, read, garden, cook and try to write with honesty, and to the best of my ability.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

